In the U.S. Code, one finds the following “independent establishments of the executive branch” mentioned:

(1) the National Center for Productivity and Quality of Working Life (15 USC 2411);

(2) the Harry S Truman Scholarship Foundation (20 USC 2004);

(3) the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation (20 USC 4502);

(4) the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation (20 USC 4703);

(5) the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation (20 USC 5702);

(6) the U.S. Postal Service (39 USC 201); and

(7) the Postal Regulatory Commission (39 USC 501).

Surprisingly, the U.S. Code does not define clearly what the term “independent establishment of the executive branch” means.  5 USC 104 reads:

For the purpose of this title, “independent establishment” means –
(1) an establishment in the executive branch (other than the United States Postal Service or the Postal Regulatory Commission) which is not an Executive department, military department, Government corporation, or part thereof, or part of an independent establishment; and
(2) the Government Accountability Office.